Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher

Edmodo

I love Edmodo! I discovered it via Twitter the day before my first class of the 2010-2011 academic year, and I can honestly say it has revolutionised the way that I interact with my students both inside and outside class.

If you’ve never heard of it, here’s a quick intro. I describe it as ‘facebook for education’. Here’s a screenshot of my homepage at the moment:

 

For anyone who has used facebook, the interface should be instantly familiar, and for anyone who hasn’t it is very easy to pick up. Here’s a video to show you how it works:

Their user guide is very comprehensive, but if you get stuck, feel free to ask for help!

As a teacher, it has meant I can easily:

  • share materials
  • make sure absent students know what they’ve missed
  • offer students help
  • collect and mark assignments
  • provide a varied diet of homework (not just workbook pages)
  • share links and videos to make English more fun
  • motivate students to find out more about various aspects of English-speaking culture
  • chat with my students outside class
  • and much much more…

I’ve received a lot more homework from my students, including returned second drafts of writing (almost unheard of before!), felt a difference in rapport with my students, had great fun discussing various youtube clips, and generally seen a much higher level of engagement and motivation both inside and outside the classroom.

But don’t just take my word for it’s usefulness. 27 of the 45 students I used Edmodo with last year responded to a survey I created to find out what they thought of it, and this is what they had to say:

So as you can see, Edmodo has made a real difference to the English-teaching and -learning experience in my classes over the past year, and it’s definitely something I will use again.

I hope this has persuaded you to try it out (and no, I’m not being paid for this!) :)

Enjoy!

Comments on: "Edmodo" (14)

  1. I’ve just gone onto facebook and noticed that my students are still sharing links that they’ve found on Edmodo even though classes finished last week :)

  2. Thanks a lot for this – I hadn’t look into Edmondo (we use wikis) but I certainly will now ;-)

  3. [...] links I shared on Edmodo [...]

  4. [...] that students could get the hang of it. I posted the links to both the online and paper versions on Edmodo, so students can play with it at [...]

  5. [...] Edmodo (http://j.mp/ZkQ5F) is a useful tool to share homework/selfstudy amongst students. Provides a platform to share ideas, etc. (@ELTExperiences) How I’ve used Edmodo in class with SS over the last year (including for HW) http://wp.me/s18yiK-edmodo (@sandymillin) [...]

  6. [...] to shape my contact with students and extended it to outside the classroom through sites such as Edmodo. I have learnt hundreds of activities through #eltchat, a weekly conversation which I take part in [...]

  7. [...] a closed social network for education (my post about Edmodo) – I use it to share resources with my [...]

  8. [...] a closed social network for education (my post about Edmodo) – I use it to share resources with my [...]

  9. [...] a closed social network for education (my post about Edmodo) – I use it to share resources with my [...]

  10. [...] Edmodo (http://j.mp/ZkQ5F) is a useful tool to share homework/selfstudy amongst students. Provides a platform to share ideas, etc. (@ELTExperiences) How I’ve used Edmodo in class with SS over the last year (including for HW) http://wp.me/s18yiK-edmodo (@sandymillin) [...]

  11. [...] first learned about Edmodo from Sandy Millin’s detailed post back in June, 2011. Yes, that was quite a while ago but till recently I hadn’t had any real [...]

  12. [...] first learned about Edmodo from Sandy Millin’s detailed post back in June, 2011. I recently got a chance to try it with a new course I was teaching for hearing [...]

  13. […] 40 or more students in total over the three months I taught my final C1 class for example. I used Edmodo to help me keep track of all of them, and to share extra resources and set homework. This really […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 908 other followers

