Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

One little email

I came into school at 7:15 this morning, having woken up an hour before my alarm at 5:15. I wasn’t in the best of moods, and although I knew I would be fine once I was in the classroom, I wasn’t particularly looking forward to my longest teaching day of the week.

Then, I checked my email, and found this message:

Hi Sandy,

You are a best super special teacher! You are stir to me learning!  (I thing that is bad order, but, you are teacher I understand my English attempt.)

Today I was a proudly to your teachers achievements. Your pupil (I) had today meeting with European RND (detail network development). This gentleman are British, and spoke nice British English. Wonderful! I spoke more than one hour, and he underwood me. I underwood too, but 50 – 70%, not all.

Again, you are a good teacher and I bad pupil, but but but….. I am in progress.

Many thanks

(if I read this, I thing, we‘ll must training writing, Word order, tenses, spelling, atd………………………

Regards,

K

I went into class with a huge smile on my face 🙂

K was the first person I ever taught in Brno, and I have now taught him once a week since September 2007. He’s a businessman in his early fifties who owns a car showroom. When I first started teaching him, I was newly-qualified and often felt like tearing my hair out. I regularly got very frustrated (after class, not in it!) and felt like we really weren’t making any progress. He had been studying for two years, and had managed to get through one and a half books without really remembering any of the grammar.

It took a lot of learner training to get him to the stage where he would do an exercise without looking at me for approval after every question. It took at least four months to persuade him to open his book between classes, much less do homework. By the end of the first year, after revising the first half of the book, we’d managed to get through 2 more units, and I’d just about got used to teaching him.

Since then, I’ve started to really look forward to my lessons with K. We chat about all kinds of things, and he now works really hard. He’s just started an Intermediate-level book, and the amount of progress I’ve seen over the last 2.5 years has been amazing. He often calls me a ‘brutal’ teacher, but always in a jokey way. Knowing what kind of activities he enjoys and hates means my plans have become much more suited to his style and the amount of laughter has increased exponentially.

Feedback like this really encapsulates why I love my job. Thank you K!

Comments on: "One little email" (2)

  1. Hi Sandy!

    What a lovely email you have received! Such appreciations make one feel special which is probably one of the best feelings a teacher could experience.

    I also quickly went through your blog! I really liked the design of your blog- has an academic look but still very friendly:)

    I also updated my blog llast night which I had set up in November last year. Being new in this spere takes one’s time to discover and learn… I am really looking forward to the time when we have plenty of pages/posts to share with our PLN.

    Wishing you best of success and luck!
    Nesrin

    Like

    • Hi Nesrin,
      Thanks very much for the compliments on my blog. I’ve only been keeping it regularly for just over a month, and am still finding my feet. Am learning so much from our PLN too – an amazing bunch of people!
      Off to look for your blog now 🙂
      Sandy

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

