Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

Last week we looked at the FCE Use of English Part 2 Open Cloze for the first time. I wanted to help the students become aware of the kind of words that are usually missing from the texts in this part of the exam.

We had been looking at housework vocabulary, so I went on the internet and found this article about one woman’s attitude to housework. I chose a section of it and pasted it into a word document, which I printed for the students:

[To download, click ‘view on slideshare’. You may have to log in (not sure), but it’s completely free. You should then be able to click on ‘download’ above the document.]

Using flo-joe’s excellent Spotlight Paper 3 section, the students worked in pairs to highlight each of the things listed below, using a different colour each time. We chose a few examples of each on the board before we started.

  • Pronouns/relative pronouns
  • Articles/quantifiers
  • Modal/auxiliary verbs
  • Conjunctions
  • Prepositions

I also highlighted that there are a few words which don’t fit into these categories, but that this was enough to start us of. It’s important that the students realise that this part of the exam is largely testing grammar, rather than content. You can see all of the words highlighted in the second page of the document above (please feel free to correct me if you think I’ve missed any – I did it quite quickly!)

Finally, they chose 13 of the highlighted words to circle, evenly spaced throughout the text.

At home, I plugged the text into the OUP cloze maker (you need to log in, but it’s free), then created five versions of the cloze task based on the words students had circled. You can see them here:

It only took about 10 minutes to make all of them once I’d worked out how to use the cloze maker! You can also use texts from the FCE Result coursebook to create your own cloze tasks.

I think I got this idea from Phil Warwick, at a conference in either Brno or Bratislava, so thanks to him for inspiring me 🙂

Comments on: "FCE Use of English Part 2 Open Cloze: creating your own" (4)

  1. What a great tool! Thanks Sandy, I’m going to run off and play with it now!

    Like

  2. How very interesting Sandy. Thanks very much. I’ve used this book fairly recently and had no idea it offered such an amazing resource. I think the problem is time. However, now you’ve pointed it out, this something I hope to make time for! Many thanks again.

    Like

    • I tend to find the OUP books have extra resources. it’s worth looking for them as sometimes they include extra activities or practice for your students. The English File students page is also good for some grammar and vocab activities for students to do at home.
      Hope you find something useful there.
      Sandy

      Like

  3. That is very useful piece of information

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

