Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

The Vicar of Dibley is one of my all-time favourite comedies. I prepared this vocabulary worksheet for a short episode made for Red Nose Day featuring Johnny Depp. I’m just using it as a bit of Friday afternoon fun, since the students have been working hard all week. If anyone wants to write comprehension questions, I’m happy to add them to the post 🙂

Warning: do not watch/read if you are easily offended. There are some rude words included in the sheet as the double entendres they create are the key to many of the jokes.

[To download, click ‘view on slideshare’. You may have to log in (not sure), but it’s completely free. You should then be able to click on ‘download’ above the document.]

The answers are here (click to enlarge):

Enjoy!

Here’s a page of notes I made after the lesson. At the top are some extra idioms to teach the students. At the bottom are some possible discussion questions.

VIcar of Dibley extension

Comments on: "The Vicar of Dibley meets Johnny Depp" (6)

  1. Hi Sandy! what level of students did you use the video with? Thanks very much for sharing!

    Cheers!!

    Like

    • Hi Dara,
      i used it with Upper Intermediate students. I have a few notes which I will attach to the post in a minute so you can see some questions and extra vocab that you could use/teach the students.
      Let me know if you make any changes…would be interested to hear how it goes!
      Sandy

      Like

  2. Hi Sandy.

    Looks like a lot of fun!

    Have just posted a link to it on the TeachingEnglish facebook page if you’d like to check there for comments.

    best,

    Ann

    Like

  3. […] The Vicar of Dibley meets Johnny Depp The Vicar of Dibley is one of my all-time favourite comedies. I prepared this vocabulary worksheet for a short episode made for Red Nose Day featuring Johnny Depp. I’m just using it as a bit of Fri… Source: sandymillin.wordpress.com […]

    Like

  4. This looks like so much fun – I am definitely using it! Will report back 🙂
    Brilliant stuff – thanks.

    LEO

    Like

    • Thanks Leo 🙂 I’ve only used it with one class, so I’d definitely be interested in any suggestions/improvements. VoD is one of my favourite TV programmes 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

