Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, is moving to Dubai, where she will be teaching business English. She asked me for some links to give her some ideas about how to improve her teaching for business, and we decided it would make a good blog post too.

The list is by no means exhaustive, just what I could find in my bookmarks and on Twitter when I was emailing Katy. She added more links once she’d had time to investigate, so this post is a joint effort. It is not intended to be a list of materials (although some of the sites include them), but rather ways to find out how to teach business English. Feel free to add other ideas in the comments!

Methodology and Resources

For learners

  • Christine Burgmer’s blog for business learners is a great resource, full of short and sweet posts to keep students interested.
  • Business Spotlight is a German-based magazine which also has an online arm. The website includes a number of blogs for business learners.

All of these links and more are on my diigo (social bookmarking) list for business English. It’s worth checking the tag too as I’m not sure if I remembered to include everything on the list!

I found out about all of these links through Twitter, where there is a huge community of teachers from all over the world. They are supportive and always happy to help other teachers out. To find out how to join this community, click here.

So now, grab a drink and something to eat, and get surfing!

Coffee, a snack and the internet

Photo taken from eltpics by @aClilToClimb

P.S. Good luck Katy!

Comments on: "Online resources for Business English teaching" (21)

  1. Great links Sandy – thanks. The BC also has some great materials for students:
    http://www.britishcouncil.org/professionals.htm

    Like

  2. […] Online resources for Business English teaching One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, has just got a job in Dubai, where she will be teaching business English. Source: sandymillin.wordpress.com […]

    Like

  3. […] Katy Simpson-Davies, has just got a job in Dubai, where she will be teaching business English.Via sandymillin.wordpress.com Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Categories […]

    Like

  4. Josh Round said:

    Thanks Sandy for bringing this list to my attention!
    Very useful indeed, especially as I remember joining the #Eltchat on this topic but wasn’t able to find the summary – and the link is here 🙂

    Can I recommend this post to my workshop attendees?

    Josh

    Like

  5. […] Online resources for Business English teaching « Sandy Millin One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, has just got a job in Dubai, where she will be teaching business English. She asked me for some links to give her some ideas about how to improve her teaching for business, and … Source: sandymillin.wordpress.com […]

    Like

  6. Hi, Sandy! I am teaching Business English and this information is very helpful. I will have a look at all the material. A big hug from lovely La Plata, Argentina!

    Like

  7. […] One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, has just got a job in Dubai, where she will be teaching business English.  […]

    Like

  8. […] One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, is moving to Dubai, where she will be teaching business English. She asked me for some links to give her some ideas about how to improve her teaching for …  […]

    Like

  9. This is perfect! Thanks so much.

    Like

  10. […] One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, is moving to Dubai, where she will be teaching business English. She asked me for some links to give her some ideas about how to improve her teaching for …  […]

    Like

  11. […] One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, has just got a job in Dubai, where she will be teaching business English.  […]

    Like

  12. Check this site out for Business English teaching materials, it’s great:
    http://www.businessenglishstudy.com/

    Like

  13. Hi Sandy. This is a very useful resource for BE teachers.

    If I can I´d also like to recommend our website http://www.quickbusinessenglish.com which provides students with useful phrases to make full use of their Business Communication Skills.

    Like

  14. it is really great. currently I am teaching a course business English in the college

    Like

  15. Hi Sadny! I’ve released a set (65 and growing) of my personal ESL lesson plans on an easy to use web platform (that I’ve designed), we are currently free and looking for teachers to give us feedback. They are especially useful for teachers running their own private online lessons. Take a look http://www.off2class.com

    Like

  16. […] One of my colleagues, Katy Simpson-Davies, has just got a job in Dubai, where she will be teaching business English.  […]

    Like

  17. Hallo Sandy

    How nice to see my name on this list. Just one little thing. The link isn’t working. 😦 Would you like to update it?

    http://english-trainer.de/blog/

    Best wishes from Germany
    Christine

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

