Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

IATEFL 2012 preparations

My blog has been rather neglected recently, and the main reason is that I have been preparing to go to my first ever IATEFL conference.

Back in June 2011 I applied for the International House John Haycraft classroom exploration scholarship, which would enable me to become a member of IATEFL and attend the Glasgow conference. In August I found out that I was one of the two lucky winners of the scholarship. Since then I have been doing classroom-based research, the results of which I will present on Wednesday 21st March at 17:55GMT. Many of you helped me out a lot in late 2011 when I published a survey for students on their use of Internet resources for their English.

Over the last month, my preparation has intensified. I have collated the results and put together my presentation, recorded an audio version of it and written a full text version of all of my findings. I will publish all of this on Wednesday, hopefully slightly before the presentation itself so that even if you can’t attend, you can still experience the full joy of research 😉 You can also follow the conference online, including live streaming of many of the sessions.

For those who will be at IATEFL, hopefully I will see you at my presentation (Wednesday 21st March, 17:55-18:40, Boisdale 2), entitled ‘Go online: getting your students to use Internet resources’. To help you decide whether you want to come or not, Adam Simpson interviewed me and created a presenter profile with the results. I’m looking forward to (re-)meeting a lot of my PLN, especially after the great experience I had in Paris in November last year.

Once it’s all over, hopefully I will get back to blogging a little more regularly, and I will, of course, share my experiences of the conference with you too!

Chestnut tree in a Glasgow park

Chestnut tree in a Glasgow park by @cgoodey on #eltpics. One of only 2 photos of Glasgow on http://flickr.com/eltpics at the moment, but I'm sure that won't be true for long!

Comments on: "IATEFL 2012 preparations" (5)

  1. I’ve got your session in my planner, Sandy. I’m looking forward to it.

    And, thanks for using my ELTpic! There are more than two from Glasgow in the collection. I mustn’t have labeled them properly, but will look forward to your additions. 🙂

    See you soon!!
    Carol

    Like

    • Or, maybe I didn’t upload them! I can’t find them either…

      Like

      • Thanks to all of you who have commented – looking forward to getting it out in the world now. Not normally nervous before presentations, but losing my voice a week before and knowing quite a few people who will be there has given me the butterflies. Sure it will be fine though!

        Like

  2. Best of luck with your presentation! You are such a thorough person that I’m confident it will be fascinating!
    Looking forward to reading about it!
    Naomi

    Like

  3. Have a good time. With a year’s worth of research done, it sounds as though you are fully prepared!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

