Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

Just a quick post.
I knew this would happen. You get a few weeks in and it all gets on top of you. Suddenly you start thinking “What am I doing?” “Why am I bothering?” “Why can’t I go out and enjoy the sunshine like everyone else?”
Today is that day. I know I’ll get through it. I know it’ll all be worth it in the end. But that end is 8 months away, and right now, that feels like a very long time.
So I’m going to take a break, eat some lunch, go for a walk, and come back and try again later.

Comments on: "The loneliness of the long-distance Deltee" (10)

  1. I know exactly how you feel Sandy ! I ‘m doing module 3 and it’s lonely but I still believe worth it. Good luck with module 2. I did the intensive in 6 weeks -that really was tough going

    Like

  2. All journeys have rough patches. But it sounds like you aren’t banging your head against the wall. Take your camera with you on your walk – you take such great pics, it might reinvigorate you.
    Hang in there and best of luck!
    naomi

    Like

  3. Hi Sandy,

    I’m doing a distance MA, and did DELTA (albeit not distance) a few years back, so I know exactly how you feel.

    If you ever need to complain about all those cruel people frolicky outside under your nose….

    Hang in there mate. We’ll be enjoying the sunshine soon 🙂

    Kylie

    Like

  4. ahhh *frolicking*

    CABIN FEVER!

    Like

  5. Hope your walk has done the trick. I´m doing a distance MA and it´s so hard to keep up with assignments, discussions, papers . . . For me swimming is the best way to relax ( as well as a piece of very dark chocolate:)
    Wish you a lot of sunshine!
    Dolores

    Like

  6. Hi Sandy – are you the only one at your school doing the DELTA? It’s useful to get a support group around you for moments when you feel like this. Who’s your LT? Speak to them as they should be happy to help where they can. Can you get a reduced teaching timetable for a while? The dd website is great too – post in the forums as you’d be surprised how many feel exactly the same. Give a shout if I can help in any way

    Like

  7. Can you find a kindred spirit who’s doing the same course?

    Years ago I, along with my best friend David Warr, decided to to the distance learning Trinity Dip TESOL (a broadly similar course). So we met up for study sessions, critted each other’s essays and so on. I think it was one of the best decisions I ever made.

    Although we were able to meet up, I’m sure a study buddy would be a godsend.

    PS Dave is now up to this: http://www.languagegarden.com/

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for all of your support and your votes of confidence – you’re my support group 🙂 I feel a lot better now – I was just a bit down yesterday and needed to work through it. I’ll speak to my local tutor tomorrow, which will also help.
    I use the Distance Delta forums a lot – I log in a few times a day, whenever I have a moment. It really helps, but yesterday I just needed to vent!
    The other thing that helps is thinking about possible holidays for the week after my Delta exam 😉

    Like

  9. […] as possible. This will help you to fend off the situation I had a couple of weekends ago, when I felt really stressed because I hadn’t done anything for it up to that point. (I’m feeling a lot better about […]

    Like

  10. […] felt very isolated and didn’t feel like I had much support from my local tutor. I didn’t think […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

