Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

Cook or cooker?

Here is one of my favourite visual mnemonics.

Cook

 

Cooker

I came up with it a long time ago, and now use it every time a student makes a mistake with this pair of words. I’ve never noticed them make the mistake again! (Note to self: reverse the colours next time!)

Since this was so quick to post, I challenge you to share your own favourite mnemonics, visual or otherwise, for those pesky mistakes students will keep making. I’ll add a list to this post as they’re published.

Comments on: "Cook or cooker?" (8)

  1. […] Here is one of my favourite visual mnemonics. I came up with it a long time ago, and now use it every time a student makes a mistake with this pair of words. I've never noticed them make the…  […]

    Like

  2. “make a mistake” – both “make” and “mistake” begin with M!

    Like

  3. I do the same with the verb ‘to be’ versus ‘do’ or ‘have’ confusion. I am China = an outline of China with eyes, stick legs and arms. I am black hair = masses of hair with arms and legs… they also work!

    Like

  4. […] Here is one of my favourite visual mnemonics. I came up with it a long time ago, and now use it every time a student makes a mistake with this pair of words. I've never noticed them make the…  […]

    Like

  5. […] Here is one of my favourite visual mnemonics. I came up with it a long time ago, and now use it every time a student makes a mistake with this pair of words. I've never noticed them make the…  […]

    Like

  6. I find the following useful to remember how to spell ‘necessary’. Visualise a vicar wearing nothing but one collar and two socks 🙂

    Like

  7. […] Here is one of my favourite visual mnemonics. I came up with it a long time ago, and now use it every time a student makes a mistake with this pair of words. I've never noticed them make the…  […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

