Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

On Friday 4th April, I did my first ever Pecha Kucha (and no, I don’t know how to pronounce it either – PK!). If you’ve never heard of a PK, it’s 20 slides, each on screen for 20 seconds, giving a total of six minutes and forty seconds. The speaker has no control over the slides, and just has to keep up!

There were eight presenters, all of whom were very entertaining:

  • Valeria Benevolo Franca (the host): Keep Calm and Pecha Kucha
  • James Taylor: Just say yes!
  • Bita Rezaei: A manifesto for teachers
  • Damian Williams: Linguistic Landscapes
  • me
  • Thom Jones:
  • Cecilia Lemos: The Ten Commandments of ELT
  • Lindsay Clandfield: memes

The whole event was recorded, and you can watch it below. I’d highly recommend watching the whole thing (it’s an hour), but if you just want to see mine, it starts at 33:15.

Harrogate International Centre auditorium (photo by James Taylor)

As well as being my first PK, it was my first presentation on a stage, or with a microphone.  It was a great experience, and something I hope I can do again in the future!

Other perspectives

Elena Matveeva chose some of my 19 things and expanded on them, as well as highlighting points from some of the other PKs.

Lizzie Pinard blogged throughout the PK evening – I have no idea how she kept up!

Comments on: "19 things I’ve learnt as an EFL teacher" (11)

  1. […] On Friday 4th April, I did my first ever Pecha Kucha (and no, I don't know how to pronounce it either – PK!). If you've never heard of a PK, it's 20 slides, each on screen for 20 seconds, giving a …  […]

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on broadyesl.

    Like

  3. You were kinda nervous, but that was great Sandy. Congratulations!

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on ostankowicz and commented:
    Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. […] 19 things I’ve learnt as an EFL teacher. […]

    Like

  6. just Great !!!

    Like

  7. You were great! The things you chose to mention were a good example of mixing humor and meaningful things and I really enjoyed watching.

    Like

  8. You were brilliant Sandy – your presentation flowed and had a lot of energy

    Like

  9. […] events at each IATEFL, and I’ve now been lucky enough to take part in the PK twice, first at Harrogate in 2014, and this year at Glasgow as part of the debate team. Phil Longwell talks about the 2017 PK evening […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

