Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

Reading for exams

This presentation was part of the Tip-Top local conference in Sevastopol which took place on May 10th, 2014. There’s a video from the conference, with photos from my presentation from about 1:00-1:30.

I shared activities to help students prepare for the KET, PET and FCE reading exams. If you have other activities you like using, why not share them in the comments?

There is a recorded version of the presentation here:

Here is the handout with all of the reading texts referred to during the presentation:

They were taken from the official Cambridge handbooks for Key (KET), Preliminary (PET) and First (FCE), which are all free to download from the Cambridge ESOL site.

The listening book mentioned on the third slide is ‘Teaching and Learning Second Language Listening: Metacognition in Action‘ by Larry Vandergrift and Christine Goh.

The signs used for KET and PET were taken from ELTpics, used under a CC Attribution Non-Commercial license. ELTpics is a collection of over 18,000 images (as I write this) shared by teachers and other education professionals from all over the world. They are arranged into categories, for example ‘Signs‘, ‘Rooms and Furniture‘ and ‘Every Picture Tells a Story‘. The photos used in the presentation were taken by Scott Thornbury, Victoria Boobyer, Mike Harrison, @silpico, Adam Simpson, and me!

The extra links I shared at the end of the presentation were:

  • Cambridge English‘ on facebook;
  • Hive of Activities: a blog by Emma Gore-Lloyd, where she shares activities she’s found useful in her class, particularly for FCE, CAE and CPE;
  • my diigo list of exam-related bookmarks, which I constantly add to. You can narrow it down by clicking ‘+’ next to any of the sub-categories on the left. For example, clicking ‘+’ next to ‘FCE’ will show you only my FCE links.

I’d like to thank David Dodgson, Hada Litim, Maria Theologidou, Olga Stolbova and Damian Williams for their help in putting together this presentation.

Comments on: "Reading for exams" (8)

  1. Lesley Dunn said:

    Hi Sandy I am bamboozled. Do you have a life outside work at the moment as you seem to be extremely busy with blogposts, training, Facebook, eltpics, still putting things together from IATEFL conference as well as taking part in IH online one. Where do you find the time to do your job? Your self promoting is obviously working. It’s weird for me when people i know eg Maeve from Belfast and Lou from Cordoba mention you so can’t imagine how strange it is when you meet new people who seem to know you well from your posts.

    Anyway got a weekend without Lesley

    >

    Like

    • Thanks Lesley 🙂 We had a week off at the end of April, and I did a lot of blogging, lining quite a few things up. It was very cathartic, as a lot of them had been in my head for while. The first week back at week, which was only four days, was crazy – teaching, observing, and prepping two presentations, one of which I did yesterday in between the Victory Day celebrations (that’s the next blogpost…) and the other I did this morning. Haven’t managed to get on eltpics all week! And as you say, that experience of people who know me well is always odd, but I always remember what not to share too. Hope you enjoy your weekend without work, and I’m off to write a blogpost 😉 xxx

      Like

  2. […] This presentation was part of the Tip-Top local conference in Sevastopol which took place on May 10th, 2014. I shared activities to help students prepare for the KET, PET and FCE reading exams. If …  […]

    Like

  3. […] This presentation was part of the Tip-Top local conference in Sevastopol which took place on May 10th, 2014. I shared activities to help students prepare for the KET, PET and FCE reading exams. If …  […]

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing my blog, Sandy! Hope you’re getting a bit of a summer break!

    Like

  5. Hi Sandy. Hope you are well in Bydgoszcz Just found this, which you must have written just after I saw you in Harrogate, 2014. As you probably know by now I’m going to be teaching all four macro skills and more to Arabic students very soon and they will be taking the Cambridge exams – KET to start with. So it will be the first time I’ve taught with that particular exam focus in mind, but not the first time with Arabic students as I taught in Riyadh in 2010-11. Found your exhaustive diigo list of exam-related bookmarks, too. Fantastic resource which I’m sure you share with your teachers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

