Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

I’ve recently been sorting out some of the files on my computer and came across a worksheet I created for low-level students to help them practise punctuation within a basic conversation. I thought I’d share it with you as I’m sure there’s somebody who’ll find it useful.

The sheet uses ELTpics by Kevin Stein and Laura Phelps. Kevin, I just realised that I said you lived in South Korea – obviously I wasn’t quite so aware then, and was just keen to use one of my all-time favourite ELTpics! Sorry 🙂

There are no contractions in there, but you might want to encourage the students to add them, maybe as a second stage after they done the un-jumbling task. There are also no exclamation marks, as I originally designed it for beginner Arabic and Chinese speakers and I thought that would be a bit too much for them to deal with. I’ve included them in brackets in the answers below.

[I believe you need a free SlideShare account to be able to download the worksheet]

Here are the answers:

A: Good morning. (!)

B: Hello. What is your name? (!) (What’s)

A: My name is Kevin. And you? (name’s)

B: I am Laura. Where are you from? (I’m)

A: I am from America. I live in South Korea. What about you? (I’m)

B: I am from the UK. What do you do? (I’m)

A: I am a teacher. What do you do? (I’m)

B: I am a teacher too. I love my job. (I’m) (!)

A: Me too. (!)

Camera

If you’ve created materials using ELTpics, why not share them with us (I’m one of the curators)? If you need inspiration, take a look at the ELTpics blog and start exploring the collection, which now has over 25,000 images!

Comments on: "Conversation jumble with ELTpics" (8)

  1. I had ELT pics all over my CELTA TP materials – always credited, of course 🙂

    Like

  2. Sandy,

    What a great way to use ELT pics, as the character pictures for people in dialogues. I would love to use this idea in my follow up post on dialogues. I’ll make sure to credit you. And thanks for helping to make ELT pics the amazing resource it is. I use it often. And should probably trumpet my use more often.

    Kevin

    Like

  3. Thank you for tomorrow’s lesson – exactly what my students need!

    Like

    • Great! Let me know how it goes 🙂

      Like

      • It went very well, I sent the early finishers out to practise and they were very creative -changing the names and occupations to their own. Then they came back and helped the others. I had copied and pasted the answers with the capitals highlighted, so they could check their work themselves. I find that even at very low levels student autonomy is appreciated (with a little prompting).

        Like

        • Hi Rachel,
          It’s great to see how you’re using the activities on the blog. I agree that autonomy is appreciated, particularly at lower levels where they don’t get it very often.
          Sandy

          Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

