Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

I’m very proud to be one of the TeachingEnglish associates, a group of wonderful English teachers from around the world. Each month a series of topics is posted on the blogs section of the British Council TeachingEnglish site, which everyone is invited to write about, including you! Anyone is welcome to join in. If you haven’t tried blogging before, why not give it a go? To inspire you, the associates offer their takes on the topics.

Teaching English Associates names word cloud

My contribution for April is a description of the way that professional development is set up at International House Bydgoszcz. I’m always looking for suggestions to improve our CPD programme, so please let me know if you have any good ideas.

Comments on: "How professional development is structured where I work (TeachingEnglish blog associates)" (7)

  1. Best of luck Sandy!

    Like

  2. Hi Sandy,

    This post reminded me of the PD we organized at Octopus and the school I worked at before. I remember we tried the “teachers at the same level planning together” thing once – it was my boss who suggested it – when we had six or seven new teachers join us in the middle of the school year. I hope it helped them – I don’t remember if they ever said in so many words how they felt about it.
    I was wondering when you say senior teachers, how do you decide who qualifies as a senior teacher? The reason I ask is because we also had teachers we thought of as being in this category, but I can’t remember that we ever devised a list of requirements. Now I think we probably should have.

    Like

    • Hi Vedrana,
      Thanks for the comment.
      At our school ‘senior teacher’ is a specific role, so it’s me as the Director of Studies, and two of my colleagues who teach a reduced timetable and run level meetings. One or two other level meetings are run by teachers with some experience on a case-by-case basis.
      I’m sure your teachers benefitted from it, as collaborative planning is almost always a way to learn a lot.
      Sandy

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi – I would love to be a blogger for Teaching English Associates. I can’t seem to find any information on how to do this. thanks Patrice

    Like

  4. Hey Sandy,

    Long time since I’ve been here. I wrote to you about DELTA a while back. Anyway, great post about the personal development. I’ve never tried that with teachers where I work, we often swap ideas and resources but never sit and plan together. Might suggest it at the next meeting. Thanks for the info. I might take a look at getting into that association too.

    Speak soon.

    Barry

    Like

    • Hi Barry,
      Glad you found it useful. I’d be interested to hear how collaborative planning works. Before hearing about this system, I often found that planning with another person led to some of the most creative lessons I’ve taught because you’re bouncing ideas off each other. Though it can be a bit of a rabbit hole at times 🙂
      Good luck!
      Sandy

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

