Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

500 (+1)

About two weeks ago I shared something without realising it was the 500th post to appear on this blog. Wow! That’s quite a scary thought.

Thank you to everyone who’s supported me throughout, to the people who’ve offered me advice on how to improve my blog, pointed out my typos, shaped my teaching ideas, shared and commented on my posts, and to those of you who are reading all of this stuff that I write. I find it constantly amazing and humbling to know that so many people have spent time visiting and using my blog. It started out as a way of building up a professional presence online (that seems to have worked!) and of sharing some of my assignments from my IH Certificate in Advanced Methodology. It’s developed into a place to share activities, offer advice (hmmm…), and appreciate my luck in being part of this career and this community. Although I haven’t managed to write as many posts over the last year, I’ve still got a lot of ideas, and I keep hoping I’ll be able to put more of them out there.

Here are a few stats for you:

  • 500 posts
  • 350 views/220 visitors so far today
  • 825,948 all-time views
  • 440,570 all-time (or at least since they started counting) visitors
  • 11,180 views on 1st May 2014, my best views ever in a single day (on a post I didn’t even write!)
  • 31 comments by Rachel Daw, my number 1 commenter!
  • 1,493 subscribed followers/606 WordPress followers (no idea how much of that crosses over…)
  • Useful links for CELTA: my most popular post this year (ever?)
  • And the one I find the most breathtaking: countries people have visited from in 2016 (white means no visitors from there so far):

sandy-millin-blog-world-map-of-visitors-2016

Thank you so much to everyone who has made this possible!

Comments on: "500 (+1)" (7)

  1. Here’s to the next 500! Yours is certainly a blog to follow!
    Naomi

    Like

  2. Congratulations Sandy! You’ve been so supportive and encouraging as I’ve started my own blogging journey – as Naomi said, here’s to the next 500!

    Elly

    Like

  3. Bravo Sandy – keep up the good work! I hope we shall be able to meet up in the New year. Keep writing your lovely articles. Not just the teaching ones. Marian xx

    Like

  4. Congrats! This is because on your blog a lot of people, including me, find an answer to their dilemmas. So, it is you who makes this possible.

    Like

  5. I’m glad to be one of the 606. I am still edging towards my 100th post. I think I am at about 90 at the moment, so 500 is a tremendous feat. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Annabella Wolloshin said:

    Many congratulations. Hope it continues to grow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

