Technologically and linguistically adventurous EFL teacher, trainer, writer and manager

How the other half live

This is the first weekend in a very long time when I have had no deadlines (internally or externally imposed), no work commitments, and no formalised plans. That meant that I could do whatever I wanted all weekend, and that is a very rare occurrence. So what did I do?

Well, the boring stuff: a bit of tidying up, but thankfully no cleaning, because the lovely lady who cleans my flat much better than I ever could came to do that instead 🙂 Sorting some paperwork into folders. Actually, there wasn’t a lot of boring stuff.

The routine stuff: physio, cross stitch, memrise, sorting some photos.

The unexpected stuff: an hour or so at the doctor’s for the conjunctivitis I woke up with yesterday morning, which thankfully has pretty much gone now. I was lucky: the doctor spoke English, and there was only one person in front of me in the queue. She said you can often wait up to six hours at the weekends. And now I know where the night/holiday/weekend doctor is for future reference.

The relaxing stuff: a long bath with a good book to read, cooking lasagne, making some almond/date/coconut/cocoa balls (thanks for the recipe Kylie!), more reading, possibly a bit too much time on social media…

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

The good book I’m reading 🙂

The social stuff: a long Skype call with my best friend and her almost two-year-old daughter, who can say my name now, as well as counting to three, and knowing some of the days of the week. I haven’t seen the little girl for three months, and now she really is a little girl!

The film-y stuff: rewatching Guardians of the Galaxy with friends at home, a trip to the cinema to see the beautiful The Zookeeper’s Wife, and an indulgent Sunday night viewing of The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

The work-y stuff (because there’s also a little bit): reading blog posts (but that doesn’t feel like work), 30 minutes replying to my students’ journals ready for our lesson tomorrow (which I always find fascinating). One question I was asked: can you touch your wrist with a finger on the same hand? I can’t 🙂

In short, it was A Good Weekend. Something I should do more often. I guess this is what it feels like to have a normal weekend 🙂

Comments on: "How the other half live" (2)

  1. annloseva said:

    I hope you’ll have more of these!!)) It was so nice to read about, I was smiling the whole time. Relaxation vibes ooze out 🙂 You could do so many things!!

    Like

  2. Even your relaxing weekends are busy. Wonder Woman!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

