Introducing a competency framework for language learning materials writing (IATEFL webinar)

On Saturday 1st June 2024, I was the presenter for the monthly IATEFL webinar. In my talk I introduced the competency framework for language learning materials writing which I created for my MA dissertation. This was the blurb:

Published classroom materials form the basis of syllabuses, drive teacher professional development, and have a potentially huge influence on learners, teachers and education systems. All teachers also create their own materials, whether a few sentences on a blackboard, a highly-structured fully-realised online course, or anything in between. Despite this, the knowledge and skills needed to create effective language learning materials are rarely part of teacher training, and are mostly learnt by trial and error.

Knowledge and skills frameworks, generally called competency frameworks, for ELT teachers, trainers and managers have existed for a few years now. However, until I created one for my MA dissertation, there wasn’t one drawing together what we need to know and do to be able to effectively produce language learning materials.

This webinar will introduce you to my framework, highlighting the key competencies I identified from my research. It will also show how anybody involved in language teaching (any language, not just English!), teacher training, managing schools or developing language learning materials can benefit from using the framework.

The webinar was a variation on a talk I’ve done a few times this year. IATEFL members will be able to watch the recording of the webinar by going to the IATEFL website, logging into the member dashboard, clicking on the My resources link and searching for my name: ‘Sandy Millin’.

These are my slides from the webinar:

https://www.slideshare.net/slideshow/2024-06-01-introducing-a-competency-framework-for-languag-learning-materials-writing-iatefl-sandy-millin-pptx/269454318

You can download the full framework and see the research behind it in my dissertation by following this link.

Please let me know how you use the framework and whether you have any feedback on it – I’d be really interested to see how it works out in the world!

One thought on “Introducing a competency framework for language learning materials writing (IATEFL webinar)

  1. Pingback: language express

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.